



*To: ProfessorJean-Patrick Connerade President of The European Academy of Sciences Art and Letters Imperial College London, Great Britain*  Ohrid, 29-th of October 2017

Dear Professor Connerade,

It is my pleasure to inform you that the Ohrid Academy of Humanism (www.ohrid-academy.org) in 2007 established the Award "World Prize of Humanism", granted to outstanding persons whose creative activity promotes the principles of humanism, love and brotherhood between all nations of the world. The Ohrid Academy of Humanism was founded 25 years ago in the town of UNESCO, a 7000 years old city in Macedonia, whose patron is St. Clement of Ohrid (840-916), disciple of St. Cyril and Methodius, and founder of the First school of humanism in the Middle Ages in Europe.

## I am honored to inform you that this year, a 7 member International jury of the Ohrid Academy of Humanism and me, as its President, unanimously decided:

## THE WORLD PRIZE OF HUMANISM for 2018 To be awarded to Professor Jean-Patrick Connerade, President of The European Academy of Sciences Art and Letters

- In 2007 the World Academy of Humanism awarded this prestigious acknowledgement to the great Buddhist philosopher Daisaku Ikeda.

- In 2008 the cult Portugal Director Manuel De Oliveira was honored with this prize.

- In 2009 the prize was awarded posthumously to Aleksandr Solzhenitcyn, the outstanding Russian writer, Nobel prize-winner for literature in 1970.

- In 2010 the World Academy of Humanism awarded this prestigious acknowledgement to the legendary musician and composer from India, Ravi Shankar.

- In 2011 the prize was awarded to Peter Brook –world famous theater director from England.

- In 2012 the prize was awarded to famous Serbian writer, playwright and theater director Vida Ognjenovic.

- In 2013 the World Academy of Humanism awarded this prestigious acknowledgement to the great writher and Nobel Prize Laureate Herta Muller from Germany.

- In 2014 the prize was awarded to the world known Bulgarian academic painter Svetlin Roussev.

- In 2015 the prize was awarded to the world known Canadian writer John Ralston Saul, president of the International PEN Center.

- In 2016 the prize was awarded to the Croatian writer, slavist, and world famous ecumenist Darko Gasparovic.

- In 2017 the prize was awarded to the great Czech film director and humanist Jiri Svoboda.

Your imposing work in establishing and keeping a dialogue between the generations of European and world scholars and artists, your creative imagination between science and literature, your message that moves every human being, your profound scientific thought and literary vision represent a unique contribution to landscape of modern civilization.

Your commitment to humanism that opens the perspectives of hope in the world, the very same hope that is challenged every day, represent a well justified reason for the international jury of the Ohrid Academy of Humanism and me, as its President, to grant you this prestigious award.

Ohrid Academy of Humanism, and me personally will be honored, to be our guest from the 17-th to 20-th of January 2018 in Ohrid, and Skopje and to receive personally this prestigious award, in the House Urania of the Macedonian Academy of Sciences and Arts.

Kind regards,

Ambassador Jordan Plevnes President of the Ohrid Academy of Humanism National Advisor of the President of R. of Macedonia and Rector of the University of Audiovisual Arts, Skopje- Paris-Essen-Rotterdam

Klernes